Donington - Race 1 Results

Double R Racing's Louis Foster claimed his maiden BRDC British F3 win in race one at Donington Park this afternoon (Saturday). The British driver finished 1.4 seconds ahead of Hitech's Reece Ushijima, with teammate Kush Maini taking third.

Lanan Racing's Piers Prior was fourth, with Douglas Motorsport's Kiern Jewiss fifth. Chris Dittmann Racing's Josh Skelton took sixth place ahead of Hillspeed's Sasakorn Chaimongkol, with Kaylen Frederick taking eighth after a dramatic race that saw him slip down the order and then crash out on the 13th lap, though a timing error meant that the chequered flag was inadvertently delayed and shown incorrectly at the end of lap 13, with the regulation distance actually being 12 laps, with the final result taken from the end of that lap in accordance with Motorsport UK regulations. Benjamin Pedersen (Double R) and and Nazim Azman completed the top-10.

At the start, Frederick held his lead down to Redgate, holding off Foster while the Hitech pair of Ushijima and Maini squabbled for third. But towards the end of the opening lap and with raindrops reported, the American had a moment exiting the Fogarty Esses, ran over the grass and fell to fourth, promoting Foster to the lead and the Hitech duo to the podium.

Foster extended his lead to eight tenths of a second on lap two, but the race was neutralised behind the safety car after Chris Dittmann Racing's Nico Varrone hit the barriers at the exit of the Fogarty Esses, having been running in 12th place.

The race resumed at the end of lap five, with Foster looking to rebuild his advantage, but there was more drama for Frederick, who locked a brake at the Melbourne Hairpin, ran wide onto the grass and dropped to sixth behind Prior and Jewiss. The hairpin seemed to be a problem for Frederick as he fell to seventh on lap seven behind Skelton, and then to Chaimongkol on lap 12.

Foster meanwhile was largely untroubled at the front, holding off an initial stern challenge from Ushijima before pulling away at the end of the contest. Having pressured the leader early on, Ushijima was left to fend off the challenge from teammate Maini as he aimed for his maiden British F3 podium, ultimately finishing three tenths ahead of the Indian driver, who secured his third podium from five races, and headed a train of four cars challenging for the podium.

Prior in fourth was at times the fastest driver on the track, moving past Jewiss on lap one and then benefitting from Frederick's issues to take fourth, and only losing the fastest lap honour towards the end of the contest, while Jewiss started fifth and finished fifth to bank more solid points for his championship challenge.

Chaimongkol had challenged Frederick for several laps before moving past on lap 12 to claim seventh place, and less than two tenths clear of the American at the end of the race. Frederick was classified four tenths ahead of Pedersen in ninth, with Azman holding his grid position to complete the top-10.

Horsten in 11th was one of the biggest gainers in the race, having started 19th after his qualifying penalty. He immediately shot up to 16th on lap one, then moved to 15th on lap two, 14th on lap six, 13th on lap seven and gained two places on lap eight to move up to 11th.

Josh Mason claimed 12th for Lanan Racing, a quarter of a second clear of Douglas Motorsport's Manaf Hijjawi who claimed 13th for the third race in succession ahead of Hillspeed's Oliver Clarke. Guilherme Peixoto took 15th for Carlin ahead of JHR debutants Carter Williams and Max Marzorati.

Douglas Motorsport's Ulysse De Pauw was the final finisher in the race, having pitted to replace a damaged front wing on lap nine, and will therefore provisionally line up on pole for race two at 10.15 tomorrow morning.

BRDC British F3 Championship, Donington Park, race one result:

1. Louis Foster, Double R Racing, 12 laps
2. Reece Ushijima, Hitech GP, +1.424s
3. Kush Maini, Hitech GP, +1.740s
4. Piers Prior, Lanan Racing, +2.440s
5. Kiern Jewiss, Douglas Motorsport, +3.240s
6. Josh Skelton, Chris Dittmann Racing, +4.041s
7. Sasakorn Chaimongkol, Hillspeed, +7.037s
8. Kaylen Frederick, Carlin, +7.223s
9. Benjamin Pedersen, Double R Racing, +7.624s
10. Nazim Azman, Carlin, +8.824s
11. Bart Horsten, Lanan Racing, +9.115s
12. Josh Mason, Lanan Racing, +10.510s
13. Manaf Hijjawi, Douglas Motorsport, +10.754s
14. Oliver Clarke, Hillspeed, +11.022s
15. Guilherme Peixoto, Carlin, +11.387s
16. Carter Williams, JHR Developments, +18.652s
17. Max Marzorati, JHR Developments, +20.581s
18. Ulysse De Pauw, Douglas Motorsport, +1m01.685s
DNF. Nico Varrone, Chris Dittmann Racing, 1 lap completed


Photo credit: BRDC British F3 and British GT