Redemption for Frederick after dominant Donington race one victory

Carlin's Kaylen Frederick claimed a dominant victory in the opening race of the weekend at Donington Park, leading every lap to head home Douglas Motorsport's Ulysse De Pauw by over three seconds. Hitech GP's Kush Maini was third to extend his championship lead.

Maini pulled out a gap to Bart Horsten who claimed fourth for Lanan Racing, with Nazim Azman fifth for Carlin. Double R's Benjamin Pedersen held off Hillspeed's Oliver Clarke to claim sixth, with Reece Ushijima taking eighth for Hitech ahead of Hillspeed's Sasakorn Chaimongkol, with Piers Prior surging from 16th on the grid to complete the top-10.

Frederick made a strong start from pole position to build a decent gap over De Pauw and Maini on the first lap, only for that to be wiped out when the safety car was deployed. Hillspeed's Sasakorn Chaimongkol dropped down the order to 11th on lap one, having started fourth, while an incident at Coppice delayed Double R's Louis Foster, wiped out Fortec debutant Frank Bird, and caused significant damage to the front left of Kiern Jewiss' Douglas Motorsport car, with the British driver trundling back to the pits for repairs.

The main beneficiary of the lap one drama was Prior, who climbed to ninth from 16th, while Josh Skelton (CDR) climbing to 10th having started 14th, with Roberto Faria (Fortec), Josh Mason (Lanan) and Alex Fores (CDR) also making progress.

With Bird's car removed from the track, racing resumed at the end of lap three, with Frederick immediately building a lead of almost a second, while further back Skelton's first lap progress was wiped out as he dropped to 15th. Meanwhile, Foster began his recovery by gaining three places to move up to 13th.

At the front, Frederick had the race under control, extending his gap to 1.5 seconds next time around, and then gradually built his advantage to over two seconds on lap eight, before setting a string of fastest laps to take the chequered flag by 3.204s from Belgian driver De Pauw, who claimed his second successive second place finish.

Maini finished just over five tenths behind the Douglas Motorsport car to clinch his eighth podium from the 12 races held so far, and extend his championship margin to 38 points over Frederick, who moves up from fifth in the standings to second.

Maini had to contend with a fighting Horsten in the first half of the race, with the Australian keeping the Indian driver firmly in his sights in the four laps following the restart, only to lose ground slightly as the race went on, ultimately finishing 1.2 seconds behind.

Testing pace setter Azman operated in clear air having gained a spot compared to his grid position, while Pedersen in sixth fended off a train of cars that was initially headed by Ushijima, only for Clarke to force his way past the Japanese-American driver on lap 10. Clarke finished less than half a second behind the Double R driver and half a second ahead of Ushijima, while Chaimongkol recovered a top-10 finish after his opening lap issues, with his race including a move on Prior on lap 10 to salvage ninth.

Foster recovered to 11th after his dramas, finishing three tenths behind Prior and a second clear of Douglas Motorsport's Manaf Hijjawi. Skelton fought back to 13th after his restart dramas, over two seconds ahead of Lanan's Josh Mason, while newcomers Alex Fores (Chris Dittmann Racing) and Roberto Faria (Fortec) kept out of trouble to bank points finishes on their debut.

Sterling work from the Douglas Motorsport mechanics ensured Jewiss returned to the race despite the rather bent front wheel arrangement at the end of the first lap, with the British driver completing seven laps, but not enough to be classified as a finisher.

The second BRDC British F3 race of the weekend is the reverse grid contest, scheduled to start at 10.35 tomorrow (Saturday), with Faria set to line-up on pole position.

BRDC British F3 Championship, Donington Park race one provisional result:

1. Kaylen Frederick, Carlin, 12 laps
2. Ulysse De Pauw, Douglas Motorsport, +3.204s
3. Kush Maini, Hitech GP, +3.784s
4. Bart Horsten, Lanan Racing, +5.047s
5. Nazim Azman, Carlin, +8.805s
6. Benjamin Pedersen, Double R Racing, +10.132s
7. Oliver Clarke, Hillspeed, +10.606s
8. Reece Ushijima, Hitech GP, +11.167s
9. Sasakorn Chaimongkol, Hillspeed, +12.207s
10. Piers Prior, Lanan Racing, +12.902s
11. Louis Foster, Double R Racing, +13.222s
12. Manaf Hijjawi, Douglas Motorsport, +14.250s
13. Josh Skelton, Chris Dittmann Racing, +14.530s
14. Josh Mason, Lanan Racing, +16.923s
15. Alex Fores, Chris Dittmann Racing, +20.073s
16. Roberto Faria, Fortec Motorsports, +24.167s
NC. Kiern Jewiss, Douglas Motorsport, 7 laps
DNF. Frank Bird, Fortec Motorsports, 0 laps


Photo credit: BRDC British F3 and British GT