Pedersen wins Silverstone reverse grid stunner - title fight goes on!

Double R's Benjamin Pedersen won a spectacular reverse grid race at Silverstone this morning, with the championship battle going down to the final race. Pedersen started third but fought his way to the front to finish clear of Lanan Racing's Bart Horsten, who put in an overtaking masterclass to soar from 10th on the grid to second, which included a last lap overtake on Carlin's Nazim Azman, who finished third.

Behind them there was all sorts of drama, mainly between championship contenders Kaylen Frederick and Kush Maini, with the pair banging wheels on a couple of occasions on the same lap. The pair raced with wet weather tyres on a cold and damp but drying track, with half the field opting for slick tyres in the assembly area just before the start of the race. The slick tyre gamble paid off with the podium drivers all racing with dry tyres, while Frederick and Maini slipped down the order after strong starts.

Frederick ultimately finished 12th with Maini 17th, a result which sees the pair separated by 33 points going into the final race with 35 still on offer.

A five car scrap for the lead developed by the final lap, with Fortec's Roberto Faria finishing just a couple of tenths away from a maiden podium, and less than seven tenths clear of Hillspeed's Oliver Clarke.

Double R's Louis Foster finished in a remarkable sixth place. The British driver was spun down the order after spinning on the Hangar Straight after getting involved in one of the Frederick/Maini incidents, falling as far back as 15th, but using his dry tyres and some astute overtaking to climb to sixth.

JHR Developments' Carter Williams secured seventh, less than a second ahead of Hillspeed's Sasakorn Chaimongkol, with Piers Prior (Lanan) and Josh Skelton (Chris Dittmann Racing) completing the top-10.

Pole sitter Max Marzorati fell to 11th for Chris Dittmann Racing, but still a long way clear of Frederick, who just missed out on claiming the title a round early, but now only needs to finish race three to claim the title. Frederick starts race three from pole, with Maini starting second.

BRDC British F3 Championship, Silverstone GP, race two provisional result:

1. Benjamin Pedersen, Double R Racing, 10 laps
2. Bart Horsten, Lanan Racing, +0.737s
3. Nazim Azman, Carlin, +1.140s
4. Roberto Faria, Fortec Motorsports, +1.327s
5. Oliver Clarke, Hillspeed, +2.001s
6. Louis Foster, Double R Racing, +13.833s
7. Carter Williams, JHR Developments, +19.440s
8. Sasakorn Chaimongkol, Hillspeed, +20.362s
9. Piers Prior, Lanan Racing, +1m00.282s
10. Josh Skelton, Chris Dittmann Racing, +1m16.222s
11. Max Marzorati, Chris Dittmann Racing, +1m22.715s
12. Kaylen Frederick, Carlin, +1m36.082s
13. Ulysse De Pauw, Douglas Motorsport, +1m43.082s
14. Manaf Hijjawi, Douglas Motorsport, +1m48.091s
15. Reece Ushijima, Hitech GP, +1m48.261s
16. Jonny Wilkinson, Fortec Motorsports, +1m49.577s
17. Kush Maini, Hitech GP, +1m53.081s
18. Ayrton Simmons, JHR Developments, +1 lap
19. Josh Mason, Lanan Racing, +1 lap


Photo credit: BRDC British F3 and British GT