Foster splashes to superb win at soaking Snetterton

Double R Racing's Louis Foster claimed his third win of the year in treacherous conditions in race three at Snetterton. In soaking wet conditions and with a safety car start, Foster finished over two seconds clear of Kaylen Frederick, with Benjamin Pedersen third, with Foster clawing back ground in the championship race.

Pedersen held off the attentions of Douglas Motorsport duo Manaf Hijjawi and Ulysse De Pauw, with Hillspeed pair Sasakorn Chaimongkol and Oliver Clarke sixth and seventh.

Lanan's Piers Prior recovered to eighth after dropping to 15th behind the safety car, finishing ahead of teammates Josh Mason and Bart Horsten, who completed the top-10.

The start of the race was delayed due to multiple red flags in the British GT warm-up session, and when it did get underway, it was behind the safety car owing to constant rain throughout the morning. The safety car pitted at the end of lap two, with Foster leading the 18 cars across the line to start the race proper.

Despite the conditions, the vast majority of the field managed to stay on track, and Foster took advantage of a clear visor to build a lead of 1.2 seconds at the end of the first racing lap, with the lead duo immediately establishing a clear advantage over Pedersen in third.

Frederick in second though began to put the British contender under serious pressure, closing up to the Double R car's rear wing at the end of lap five and the pair separated by less than half a second.

But a couple of quick laps allowed Foster to pull out a margin of over two seconds once more, and claimed his third victory of the year by 2.271 seconds, despite a fastest lap from Frederick on the final tour.

The top-two finished almost 10 seconds clear of Pedersen, who had to focus on holding off Hijjawi and De Pauw for the duration of the race, ultimately finishing half a second clear of the Jordanian, with De Pauw less than seven tenths further behind.

Chaimongkol moved up to sixth on the opening lap, and held position until the flag, while teammate Clarke had a good opening tour to climb from 11th to seventh, and then lapped around half a second quicker per lap than his teammate to finish within 1.5 seconds of the Thai driver at the flag.

Prior started 13th, but dropped to 15th behind the safety car. He was another to enjoy an excellent first lap as he shot up to eighth on the restart lap and then comfortably held off Mason, while Horsten enjoyed yet another charge from the back of the grid. The Australian started 18th and climbed to 11th at the restart, took advatage of a spill for Max Marzorati on lap four and then applied serious pressure to Mason.

Carlin's Nazim Azman finished 11th after going wheel to wheel with the Douglas Motorsport pair of De Pauw and Hijjawi as he battled for fourth place on the restart lap, only to go off at Williams moments later and drop down the order.

He finished a long way clear of Fortec's Roberto Faria, with the Brazilian battling away on just his second British F3 weekend, and finishing five seconds clear of Hitech's Reece Ushijima, with JHR's Carter Williams 14th and ahead of championship leader Kush Maini, who endured a difficult race, starting 10th and dropping to 16th at the restart. He fought back up to 14th but fell behind Williams on the last lap.

JHR's Max Marzorati was the final finisher in 16th, with both Chris Dittmann Racing's Josh Skelton and Alex Fores both retiring with damage.

The final race of the weekend is due to commence at a revised time of 13.40, with Foster set to start on pole.

BRDC British F3 Championship, Snetterton race three provisional result:

1. Louis Foster, Double R Racing, 8 laps
2. Kaylen Frederick, Carlin, +2.271s
3. Benjamin Pedersen, Double R Racing, +12.101s
4. Manaf Hijjawi, Douglas Motorsport, +12.664s
5. Ulysse De Pauw, Douglas Motorsport, +13.343s
6. Sasakorn Chaimongkol, Hillspeed, +14.954s
7. Oliver Clarke, Hillspeed, +16.406s
8. Piers Prior, Lanan Racing, +23.037s
9. Josh Mason, Lanan Racing, +24.450s
10. Bart Horsten, Lanan Racing, +24.814s
11. Nazim Azman, Carlin, +28.461s
12. Roberto Faria, Fortec Motorsports, +52.675s
13. Reece Ushijima, Hitech GP, +58.496s
14. Carter Williams, JHR Developments, +1m01.870s
15. Kush Maini, Hitech GP, +1m05.704s
16. Max Marzorati, JHR Developments, +1m13.146s
DNF. Josh Skelton, Chris Dittmann Racing, 6 laps
DNF. Alex Fores, Chris Dittmann Racing, 3 laps


Photo credit: BRDC British F3 and British GT